ul. Gagarina 11, 87-100 Toruń
tel.: +48 56 6114212
+48 56 6114213
e-mail: ucjo@umk.pl

Language proficiency levels

In order to simplify and unify language proficiency levels, the Council of Europe has established the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages. We recommend that you read the descriptions of language levels, especially if you wish to asses your own proficiency.

The Framework was designed to unify the nomenclature of levels regardless of country and language.






The Framework includes six levels across three broad divisions:

Basic User (A1 and A2)

Independent User (B1 and B2)

Proficient User (C1 and C2)

We would also like to encourage you to read the detailed descriptions of individual skills (listening, reading, speaking, and writing) for each language level. assessment_grid (78 KB)